Short chapter books or long chapter books?

Here’s the thing. I never did like to read till I started to write, but even when I started to write back in 2005 I didn’t read much at all. As I got older through the years my fellow writers said “Ashley, you need to read. It will help you write better.” As the years went by I still wasn’t reading, even though I had a bookshelf packed with books that I wanted to read, but never did. I did start a few, but never finished them.

When I start to read a book and I love and enjoy it I start to get great ideas and I stop reading and I write my own stuff and for some reason, I never go back to that book and finish it. It’s left on the shelf, waiting to be finished.

Now that I am 28 and I am living on my own I’m starting to read a lot more now and I actually do finish a book. I read The Ghost of Graylock by Dan Poblocki in four days because it was so good and I couldn’t put it down. Those are the type of books I love and want to read. The page turners and what’s going to happen next.

Now, when I go to the library and I see an interesting book cover. I think “Wow, I have to read that.” So I do and come to find the chapters are like 8 or 9 pages long. I try to get through the pages and when I do I feel like I’m not going to finish it and it’s going to take forever. I hate long chapter books. Even when I write my own books I try hard not to let them be 8, 9 or even 10 pages long.

I remember when I went back through my novel Spirit Keeper to revise and edit I noticed that one of my chapters was 18 pages long and I was like “Oh my god, this has to change.” So I reread the chapter to see and understand why it was so long and I found a lot of things that was overwritten badly and most of the stuff didn’t need to be there. So when it comes to reading novels I rather read short chapter books.

Right now I’m reading Asylum by Madeleine Roux. And I’m loving it. Some of the chapters are 3 pages or 4. I just bought her other book Escape from Asylum a week ago at Wal-Mart. I just started it. So far the pages are short and if some aren’t, that’s fine.

Leave a Reply

