The Writer’s Life: Normal person VS Writer

ME

When I was younger around the age of learning how to write letters and sentences I never thought to be a writer. It never crossed my mind till one day in the summer of 2004 a short story idea popped into my head. A story about a girl that finds treasure hidden in the basement walls.

I didn’t know what I was doing or how to even write it. I just went with the flow. So that’s basically how my life changed. I was once a normal teenager till the day I picked up a pencil and stapled some paper together and started writing.

My life as a writer isn’t like a normal person’s life. A normal person doesn’t lie in bed and think about ideas for a blog or a novel that they started. A normal person doesn’t leave a notebook by their bed full of notes for a novel or a blog. A normal person doesn’t stay up till 2 or 3 in the morning drinking coffee while they brain storm for the next novel idea. A normal person doesn’t sit on the couch with a notebook in their hand while they watch T.V. and write notes down. A normal person doesn’t walk around their house or apartment talking to them how they should kill a character off or if two characters should fall in love or have down falls in their life. I do all of this. And I enjoy it very much.

My life as a writer can be happy, joyful, confusing, exciting, scary, frustrating, hopeful, overwhelming, uneasiness, and worrying. I’m sure every writer has this and a normal person can too. But a normal person doesn’t get happy and joyful over finishing a novel they have worked on for 10 or 20 years. A normal person doesn’t feel scared or frustrated that they might not ever finish a novel they started 10 or 20 years ago.

Leave a Reply

