The writing process of Spirit Keeper

When I first thought of writing Spirit Keeper I was 22 years old and it was in December of 2010 in the middle of winter. I was sitting on the couch watching the T.V. show The Haunted. I knew right from the start I wanted to write something scary with witches, ghosts and spirits. That was my main goal.

First I thought of the title, and then I needed a character name. After I did that I wrote my first paragraph and it was the worst writing I have ever done. Only because I didn’t know enough about writing, I wasn’t a full time writer at the time and I didn’t know enough to make the story good or readable.

So now I know my title and my main character. I start to write out the story chapter by chapter and as I’m doing this I’m not adding setting, no character traits and no weather. It’s a plain story with no purpose at all. I did enjoy writing about the ghosts and spirts. I crave it as much as I can.

When I was in my early twenties I watched the T.V. shows like My Ghost story, Celebrity Ghost Stories, The Haunted and A Haunting. The list goes on and on. I’m really fascinated with ghosts and spirts because they can do what they want and that’s how Inga is to in the novel. She haunts Alivia throughout the novel and she gets away with it. Inga is a spirt keeper. That means she is someone who sends off evil demons to kill children for their spirts and the demons bring the spirt back to Inga and she keeps it her diamond that hangs around her neck to keep her strong and powerful so she won’t be weak. I thought the idea for children spirts to keep her strong and not weak was a great idea. The children are young and has lots of energy. I love that idea and stuck with it.

It took me one month to write the novel. I had a lot of fun writing it, I guess that’s why I finished it so fast. I didn’t even take my time with the setting, character traits or adding the weather. I learned that years later.

After I finished the next two novels in the Spirit Keeper series I started to write other novels then a year later I came across Spirit Keeper in my file on my memory stick and I knew I wanted to go through it one more time and then publish it. Well that ended up to be five whole long years straight.

Through that process I did have a lot of help from the Marion country’s writers group. They are experienced writers and have been writing longer than me. I think some of them were writing way before I was born. They helped me a lot with making the story more readable and more understanding.

At the end of the fourth year I understood the characters more and added a lot more then I had.

After five years of writing it I finally decided to put it on Amazon.com and I made $78.00. I still haven’t got the money because you have to make at least $100 before you can get the first check. I think that’s dumb and not fair, but it is what it is.

Leave a Reply

