My life as a Writer: Normal person Vs. Writer

ME When I was younger around the age of learning how to write letters and sentences I never thought to be a writer. It never crossed my mind till one day in the summer of 2004 a short story idea popped into my head. A story about a girl that finds treasure hidden in the basement walls.

I didn’t know what I was doing or how to even write it. I just went with the flow. So that’s basically how my life changed. I was once a normal teenager till the day I picked up a pencil and stapled some paper together and started writing.

My life as a writer isn’t like a normal person’s life. A normal person doesn’t lie in bed and think about ideas for a blog or a novel that they started. A normal person doesn’t leave a notebook by their bed full of notes for a novel or a blog. A normal person doesn’t stay up till 2 or 3 in the morning drinking coffee while they brain storm for the next novel idea. A normal person doesn’t sit on the couch with a notebook in their hand while they watch T.V. and write notes down. A normal person doesn’t walk around their house or apartment talking to them how they should kill a character off or if two characters should fall in love or have down falls in their life. I do all of this. And I enjoy it very much.

My life as a writer can be happy, joyful, confusing, exciting, scary, frustrating, hopeful, overwhelming, uneasiness, and worrying. I’m sure every writer has this and a normal person can too. But a normal person doesn’t get happy and joyful over finishing a novel they have worked on for 10 or 20 years. A normal person doesn’t feel scared or frustrated that they might not ever finish a novel they started 10 or 20 years ago.

My life as a writer can be happy, joyful, confusing, exciting, scary, frustrating, hopeful, overwhelming, uneasiness, and worrying. I’m sure every writer has this and a normal person can too. But a normal person doesn’t get happy and joyful over finishing a novel they have worked on for 10 or 20 years. A normal person doesn’t feel scared or frustrated that they might not ever finish a novel they started 10 or 20 years ago. Us writers have that fear, normal people don’t.

Another thing about my life as a writer is when I’m in a conversation with somebody and I’m listening while they’re talking. But then my creative juice starts to flow through my brain cells and that’s when my mind starts to wonder off to the other part of my brain and I start to think of ideas for a novel that I might be currently working on or an idea I had for a while now and I want to start writing it, but I can’t because I have other novels to finish first. When my creative juice starts to impact my brain I don’t do this to be disrespectful or mean toward someone while I’m in the conversation with them. I can’t control my creative juice when it starts to stream through my brain. I can turn it off and start listening to the person still talking to me, but truthfully sometimes I don’t want to because I’m afraid I’ll forget to write it down or type it in my phone. When I start to think of ideas I’ll sometimes look away from the person and think about what the creative juice brought me today.

I can be a normal person, when I want to. I really do try my hardest to not think about my writing or what novel I’m working on or what plot I have to fix or if I should kill a character off or should I wait till the end to do that. When I hang out at the flower shop I try to keep myself busy so I’m not distracted by my novel, but that hardly ever happens. When I’m doing a flower arrangement or wanting to pick out a ribbon to wrap around the vase I stand there looking at all the different colors there is and instead in my mind I’m trying to figure out how to re write a chapter or how many characters I should have or if I should kill a good character off or not. So I have to say I’m not a normal person. My life is so different from a normal person it’s not even funny.

Sometimes when I’m bored or not doing anything I stop to think what my life would be like if I wasn’t a writer. What would I be doing all day and night? How would I think and act around people? How would my conversations be if I wasn’t a writer? Sometimes I wonder beyond that line of creativity.

Here are a few things that a writer does that a normal person does not do daily.

A Writer’s Life
*Always plotting in their heads
*Leaving a notebook by their bed
*Researching the web for inspiration
*Talking with your characters at the computer desk
*Books with baby names in them on your shelf
*Reading websites on how to kill a person
*Day dreaming of the perfect novel to write
*Going through paper, pens and ink
*Telling someone they forgot to put a comma or a period at the end of a text
*Having dreams about your novel then waking up the next morning and can’t remember them
*You stare at people and decided if you want them in your novel or not
*You watch people how they walk, move their arms or what clothes they wear

Leave a Reply

